•     

  • Jean-Marc Foltz

    Does the fact that you were born close to a border make your ears prone to openness?

    Jean-Marc Foltz grew up between the classical repertoire, vocal music and swing orchestras. He then went through a series of fruitful zigzags, triggered by his acute musical curiosity and favored by timely encounters. Widely experienced in classical interpretation, he was soon attracted by contemporary music.

    This brought him to enter, from 1988 on, the ensembles Accroche Note, Musikfabrik, InterContemporain or United Instruments of Lucillin (France, Germany, Luxembourg… the trans-border tropism?), which helped him to dig deeper into the instrumentalist-composer relationship and to develop his knowledge of the languages. Being open to the diversity of jazz “families”, he tied strong links — from 2000 on — with bassist Claude Tchamitchian (Grand Lousadzak), pianist Bill Carrothers (Armistice Band, Playday, To The Moon), clarinetists Armand Angster and Sylvain Kassap (Trio de Clarinettes), and overall pianist Stéphan Oliva and bassist Bruno Chevillon, who became partners and friends in duo or trio setting…

    Jean-Marc Foltz is a polyglot and has the stock of knowledge of an insatiable traveler. Hence his move towards traditional musicians Araïk Bartikian and Keyvan Chemirani, towards theater with Hanna Schygulla, or playing along with harpist Anja Linder. Hence his urge to develop his own compositions and to imagine “Visions Fugitives” — a new duo program — with Stéphan Oliva.

    The creation, in a “trio setting” initiated by Philippe Mouratoglou and with producer Philippe Ghielmetti, of Vision Fugitive, an eclectic record label, sounds like a logical follow up to Foltz’s intense, open approach to music.

     

     

     

    Thierry Quénum

    www.foltz.fr

  • viracochas

    "What are we guarding, Chura?

    He answer back:

    - the stones. There are Gods in them, Viracochas"

     

    (Henri Gougaud, The Seven Feathers of the eagle, Publisher: Du Seuil 1995)

     

     

     

    At the time when I was conceiving of this collection, I was preparing a trip to Latin America that was to take me on the trail of the Inca "Qhapaq Ñan"  to the ruins of Tiahuanaco. In the expectation of this journey, I had immersed myself in reading Henri Gougaud's fascinating account The Seven Feathers of the eagle. The shamanic mystique and the mysteries of the high Andean plateaux told in this magnificent book inspired the canvas and breath...

     

    Then the time, the space and the road that unfold so very uniquely on the altiplano gave birth to a musical universe half-way caught between dream and reality. I no longer distinguished between the realm of fantasy and the journey itself, and those compositions blended from a melange of authentic and fictional are the memories that in effect shaped a journal of intimate mythology.

     

    During a time, this music, conceived originally for a trio, remained in suspense. When it came to recording , the guitar combined like a precious colour, closely bound to the story  but up to then kept between the lines. This album is an invitation to travel, conjuring up a civilisation that fascinated me as a child, its profound wisdom anchored in mother Earth and its vestiges: the majestic ruins and their stone loaded with memory...

     

    JEAN-MARC FOLTZ

     

     

  • disc / booklet

     

    Booklet photos : Nicolas Bruant

  • press contact

• voir les albums

  •     

Jean-Marc Foltz

Etre né dans une région frontalière prédispose-t-il au décloisonnement des oreilles?

Grandi entre répertoire symphonique, musique vocale et orchestres de swing, Jean-Marc Foltz négocie ensuite de fructueux zigzags, favorisé par une curiosité aiguisée et des rencontres opportunes qui font de lui un clarinettiste majeur et des plus atypiques en ce début de siècle. Rompu à l’interprétation classique, vite attiré par la musique contemporaine, il intègre dès 1988 les ensembles Accroche Note, Musikfabrik, InterContemporain ou United Instruments of Lucillin (France, Allemagne, Luxembourg : le tropisme transfrontalier ?) qui l’aident à creuser la relation instrumentiste-compositeur et à approfondir sa connaissance des langages.

Ouvert à la diversité des « familles » du jazz, il noue à partir de 2000 de solides liens avec Claude Tchamitchian (Grand Lousadzak), Bill Carrothers (Armistice Band, Playday, To The Moon), Armand Angster et Sylvain Kassap (Trio de Clarinettes) et surtout Stéphan Oliva et Bruno Chevillon, complices et amis en duo ou trio…

Polyglotte, Jean-Marc Foltz possède un « bagage » de voyageur insatiable. Raison de plus pour aller vers les musiciens traditionnels Araïk Bartikian et Keyvan Chemirani, le théâtre avec Hannah Schygulla, accompagner la harpiste Anja Linder, développer ses propres compositions ou imaginer avec Stéphan Oliva « Visions Fugitives », nouveau programme en duo …

Suite logique de cette pratique des musiques vives: la création « en trio », à l’initiative de Philippe Mouratoglou et avec Philippe Ghielmetti, de Vision Fugitive, label ouvert et éclectique.

 

Thierry Quénum

www.foltz.fr

viracochas

" Que gardons-nous, Chura?

Il m’a répondu :

  - Les pierres. Il y a des dieux dedans, des viracochas."

 

  (Henri Gougaud, Les Sept Plumes de l'aigle, éditions du Seuil, 1995)

 

 

Au moment où j'imaginais ce répertoire, je préparais un voyage en Amérique latine qui devait me conduire sur le chemin de l'inca - Qhapaq Ñan - jusqu'aux ruines de Tiahuanaco. Dans la perspective de ce périple, je m'étais plongé dans une lecture passionnée du récit d’Henri Gougaud Les Sept Plumes de l'aigle. La mystique chamanique et les mystères des hauts-plateaux andins racontés dans ce livre magnifique m’ont inspiré une trame et donné un souffle…

 

Puis le temps, l'espace et la route, qui se déroulent de façon si particulière sur l'altiplano, ont donné naissance à un univers musical à mi-chemin entre rêve et réalité. Je ne distingue plus exactement ce qui fut de l'ordre du songe et ce qui fut du voyage, mais ces compositions issues d’un mélange d'impressions authentiques et de fiction en sont le souvenir et constituent, en définitive, comme un journal de mythologie intime.

 

Pendant un temps, cette musique, conçue à l’origine pour un trio, est restée suspendue. Le moment venu de l’enregistrer, la guitare s’est ajoutée comme une couleur précieuse, étroitement liée à cette histoire mais restée jusqu’alors entre les lignes.

 

Ce disque est une invitation au voyage, évoquant une civilisation qui me fascinait quand j'étais enfant, sa profonde sagesse ancrée dans la Terre-Mère et ses vestiges: les ruines majestueuses et leur pierre chargée de mémoires...

 

Jean-Marc Foltz

 

disque / livret

 

Photos livret : Nicolas Bruant

fiche presse

video